Wylde Green Primary School logo Wylde Green Primary School

Our Values: Belief, Resilience, Achieve, Nice, Challenge, Happy

National Curriculum Levels

This document outlines the National Curriculum Levels in terms of expected level of progress for each year group.

Age related expected National Curriculum levels:

  • Year 1 (age 5-6) – 1a
  • Year 2 (age 6-7) – 2b
  • Year 3 (age 7-8) – 2a / 3c
  • Year 4 (age 8-9) – 3b
  • Year 5 (age 9-10) – 3a / 4c
  • Year 6 (age 10-11) – 4c / 4b / 4a

Click on the image or the link below it to view the document.


National Curriculum Levels (pdf)

Notes on POWer projects:

Children are given a sheet with a set of POWer projects each term, with each project worth a set amount of points. Children are NOT expected to complete all of the projects – instead they should complete some of the projects so that they earn between 5 and 8 points each half term.

Each week (or sometimes less often than that if the projects will take longer) your child’s teacher will ask them to focus on one box on the POWer project sheet and choose a project from that section to complete.